Alt-F4 #8 - 致异星工厂的一封情书

作者 stringweasel, Zirr, Conor_, Therenas, Dexter of Rivia, Recon419A, trupen, ironic toblerone, TheKool, Frank_si_narra, Twisted_Code, Goose, 编辑 Therenas, nicgarner, 翻译 Ph.X 于 2020-10-09

目录

本期 Alt-F4 我们决定做件特别的事情:向社区询问他们到底为何如此热爱这款游戏。每个人都受邀提交一篇短文,来细讲他们在异星工厂中最爱的一面。为有史以来最伟大的游戏之一干杯,也为过去八年来使其成为现实的专业团队干杯!

机械臂向小吵闹递送情书的图 (图片由 Credne 提供)

我爱异星工厂的简洁 stringweasel

我喜欢异星工厂,因为它没有多余的东西。它的每一个方面都经过了彻底的调查、完善和质疑。每一个物品、游戏机制、GUI 元素和音效都是如此。“这真的是我们愿景的一部分吗?”和“是的,但它能不能更好。”没有孤立的元素,没有你需要处理的奇怪的、过时的机制。所有内容都有明确的目的,朝着唯一的目标:自动化。

而且也没有做的太过火。比如火箭发射时,没有闪烁的灯光或快乐的声音。(虽然那轰隆隆的声音还是让我起了一身鸡皮疙瘩。)如果你离得太远,你甚至可能会错过它。但它仍然令人满足,因为你知道发射那枚火箭所付出的代价。你知道你放置的每一个机械臂、每一个组装机,你知道每一块铁矿石成为卫星所走的路径。

就是为什么我总是会重玩这个游戏。

我爱异星工厂的社区 Zirr

大约八年前,当我在 Indiegogo 上发现一款看起来很酷的游戏后,心血来潮建立了异星工厂 subreddit的时候,我并没有期待太多的东西——肯定不是超过 20 万订阅者。在投入了许多数百个小时的时间来管理它之后,我可以说这真是太开心了。

有种常见趋势是随着 subreddit 的成长,它开始变得更有敌意,特别是针对新人,但我对 /r/factorio 完全没有这种感觉。作为一个社区,它很好地接受了成长的冲击,其中最大的冲击来自 Steam 发售和异星工厂 1.0。我主要把这归功于它是一款非竞技游戏、注重协作、吸引成熟的受众等因素。

当然,这也得益于游戏精美和出色的开发者,若非如此,情况可能会大不相同。社区真的很棒——这个 ALT-F4 就是一个证明。感谢每一位给这个社区添砖加瓦的人!

我爱异星工厂的铁路 Conor_

每当我玩异星工厂联机的时候(这是我大部分的游戏时间),我永远都是那个修建铁路的人。永远都是。我们通常会在一个匆匆忙忙拼凑起来的铁路网上建立一个庞大的基地,但却可以让我们(结合 TSM)建立简单的生产区而不必手动将所有的部件拼凑起来。程序员们会意识到这类似于“库”;它让我们可以说:”我为什么要关心铁板在哪里制造?我只是想做一些该死的机自研究包(红瓶)。”

如果没有铁路,异星工厂将是一团乱麻的意大利面传送带和混乱的管道;铁路为游戏带来了秩序。它们是异星工厂中最重要的一个部分,因为它们让我们可以制造许多不同的产品,而不必考虑每一块塑料或铁板的来源。

一个基于铁路物流的大型 SpaceX 基地区域

我爱异星工厂的 Mod Therenas

我玩这个游戏已经有好几百个小时了。不知什么时候,我开始喜欢上了修改它,花了更多的时间在制作 Mod 上,取代了我游玩的时间。能够主动修改自己喜欢的游戏是一件令人陶醉的事情,特别是当其提供的接口如此稳固。

在许多游戏中,你经常不得不用胶带和祈祷来把你的 Mod 黑进游戏里,却在一次小更新后彻底崩溃。在异星工厂中,开发者会积极修复只有用 Mod 才会遇到的问题。他们也非常乐于接受社区的反馈。游戏和 Mod 接口做出了十几处小改动,只是因为我在论坛上写了两句话请求他们这样做。

此外,Mod 社区本身也很神奇,在 Discord 上提供每一个 Mod 相关问题的答案,编写指南,并保持 wiki 的更新。

我爱异星工厂的细节 Dexter of Rivia

我爱异星工厂,因为它对细节的热爱和关注。物流拼图的每一块都以自己的方式配合在一起。在我如何建立工厂方面没有硬性的限制,也没有错误的方法。异星工厂是我这几十年来玩过的第一款真正让你从零开始建立自己的沙盒的游戏,而不会觉得自己缺乏方向,也不会觉得自己不劳而获。任何地图中的第一次火箭发射只是一个开始,这才是游戏真正向我敞开的点。在过去的8年里,看着和经历着游戏的成长和绽放,简直是太美妙了,而看到它的成果更是超现实的。感谢你们多年来的努力和奉献。

我爱异星工厂和我一起成长 Recon419A

我爱异星工厂,因为达到目标永远是一个开始,而不是结束。无论我爬多高,总会有另一座高峰。

我爱异星工厂的自由创造 trupen

我爱异星工厂,因为它让我在花费数小时设计被我称之为工厂的意大利面之后感觉自己很聪明。我基地的每个部分都是我自己做的,而且所有的区域都会对整个生产造成影响,这感觉超棒。每次解决瓶颈的时候,我都觉得自己智商涨了几点,忽略了当初也是我造成了瓶颈。游戏不强迫你做任何事情,同时让你有能力做任何事情,这就是最好的沙盒类型。市面上没有其他游戏能这么好的给你那种自由创造的感觉。

我也爱异星工厂的社区 ironic toblerone

我最喜欢异星工厂的什么?很简单:社区!我成为异星工厂社区的一员已经三年多了。我在 0.14 时期开始玩,那时候核能还不存在,无人机还很滥强,而且因为我很不擅长信号,所以我的火车总是互相碰撞。对不起了,火车。我很喜欢社区的成长,从中冒出了很多很棒的想法,比如光线投射引擎血液传送带,还有很多其他的概念,这些都是我在异星工厂中无法想到的。社区提出了许多令人难以置信的惊人之举,时不时让我大开眼界。

我爱异星工厂的联机 TheKool

大多数游戏在朋友联机时会更好玩,异星工厂就是一个完美的例子。任何给定地图的复杂性和尚待完成的诸多任务,使得它比我玩过的任何其他游戏更易于驱动大家为一个共同的目标做贡献,而不是简单地在同一张地图里各玩各的。这种程度的互动最终激励我开始直播游戏,我希望它也能激励其他人与朋友们建立联系,无论新老。

我爱异星工厂作为我的避风港 Frank_si_narra

我爱异星工厂,因为它能把我从现实中拉开几个小时,而这正是我所需要的,让我就能重新清醒地回到现实世界,专注于现实问题。

我爱异星工厂的优化 Twisted_Code

我爱异星工厂,因为它提供了的优化机会。从信号网络,到生产线,再到基地风格,如总线或街区式,或是把机器塞进任何放得下的地方;总有一些东西可以改进。即使是选择合适的物流媒介,也可以是一个延伸的讨论,带来许多不同的解决方案,其中一些是相当……创新

我爱异星工厂的热能机械臂 Goose

虽然Factorio有很多值得喜爱的方面,但我最喜欢的是设计的不固定的创意,尤其是使用热能机械臂。它是最慢、效率最低、负担最重的机器之一。大多数玩家不会制作太多,而我却只用热能机械臂建造了整个工厂。由于它们对速度和燃料插入的要求很低,许多热能机械臂必须配合建造才能达到与速度更快的电力机械臂类似的效果。这就变成了幽闭恐惧症,每一个设计都需要批判性思维来达到最佳的产量。这种限制促使我比以前更有创意地建造,也真正考验了我对游戏深层机制的认识。

只用热能机械臂的带插件分享塔电路板(绿片)生产线

词云

Stringweasel 和 pocarski热心地把这封信中出现频率最高的词整理成了一个词云。看起来的效果还不错,反映了很多我们与游戏相关联的东西。欢迎大家自由探索一下吧!

这封情书中最常见词汇的词云

Alt-F4 #8 - A Love Letter to Factorio

Written by stringweasel, Zirr, Conor_, Therenas, Dexter of Rivia, Recon419A, trupen, ironic toblerone, TheKool, Frank_si_narra, Twisted_Code, Goose, edited by Therenas, nicgarner on 2020-10-09

Table of Contents

For this issue of Alt-F4 we decided to do something special: ask the community why exactly they love this game so much. Everyone was invited to submit a short piece detailing their absolute favourite thing about Factorio, which many promptly did. Here’s to one of the greatest games of all time, and to the dedicated team that made it a reality these last eight years!

Image of Compilatron being handed a love letter by an inserter (Image courtesy of Credne)

I love Factorio because it has no fluff stringweasel

I love Factorio because it has no fluff. Every aspect of it is thoroughly investigated, refined, and questioned. Every item, game mechanic, GUI element, and sound. “Is this truly part of our vision?” and “Yes, but can it be better.” There are no stragglers; no weird, outdated mechanics you need to deal with. Everything has a well-defined purpose towards the singular goal: automation.

And it’s not overdone. There are no flashing lights or happy sounds when a rocket launches, for example. (Although that rumbling noise still gives me goosebumps.) You might even miss it if you’re too far away. But it’s still satisfying because you know what it took to launch that rocket. You know you placed every inserter, every assembler, and you know the path that every piece of iron ore followed to become a satellite.

That is why I will always keep coming back to this game.

I love Factorio because of the community Zirr

When I made the Factorio subreddit on a whim almost eight years ago, after finding a cool-looking game on Indiegogo, I didn’t expect much—certainly not over 200k subscribers. After putting many hundreds of hours into managing it, I can say that it’s been an absolute joy.

There is a trend of subreddits growing and becoming more hostile as a result, mainly to newcomers, but I don’t feel that way at all with /r/factorio. As a community, it’s taken very well to the growth spurts, the biggest of which were the launch on Steam and Factorio 1.0. I mainly attribute this to factors like it being a non-competitive game, its focus on collaboration, and appealing to a mature audience.

Of course, it also helps that the game and developers are absolutely fantastic; I imagine it would be a very different situation otherwise. The community is truly great—this very ALT-F4 is a testament to that. Thanks to everyone who makes the community what it is!

I love Factorio because of trains Conor_

Whenever I play multiplayer Factorio (which is most of my play time), I’m always the one to build the trains. ALWAYS. We usually end up with massive bases all running over a train network that was hastily bodged together, but allows us (in conjunction with TSM) to build simple production areas without having to fit all the parts together manually. Programmers will recognize this scenario as the ‘library effect’; it allows us to say thing like “Why would I care where iron plates are made? I’m just trying to make some damn red science packs.”

Without trains, Factorio would be a mess of spaghetti-belts and chaotic pipes; trains bring order to the game. They are the single most important part of Factorio, as they allow us to build many different products without having to consider where every piece of plastic or iron comes from.

Section of a large, train-based SpaceX base

I love Factorio because of modding Therenas

I have played this game for many hundreds of hours. At some point I got into modding it, spending many more hours on it, replacing most of my play time since then. It’s intoxicating to be able to actively modify one’s favourite game, especially when the interface provided is so solid.

In many games you often have to hack your mod together with duct tape and a prayer, only to have it completely break with a minor update. With Factorio the developers actively fix problems that only mods encounter. They are also very receptive to community feedback. The game and modding interface are different in at least a dozen minor ways, just because I wrote two sentences on the forums asking for them to be.

In addition, the modding community itself is amazing, providing answers to every mod-related question on the Discord, writing guides, and keeping the wiki updated.

I love Factorio because of the attention to detail Dexter of Rivia

I love Factorio because of the love and attention to detail that has been given to it. Every piece of the logistics puzzle fits together in its own way. There are no hard constraints on how I can build my factory, and there is no wrong way to go about it. Factorio is the first game I have played over the decades that truly lets you build your own sandbox from the ground up, without feeling like you lack direction or are given everything without working for it. The first rocket launch in any map is only the beginning, it’s the point where the game truly opens up to me. Watching and experiencing the game grow and blossom over the last eight years has been nothing short of wonderful, and to see it come to fruition is surreal. Thank you for the years of hard work and dedication.

I love Factorio because it grows with me Recon419A

I love Factorio because reaching a goal is always a beginning, and never an end. No matter how high I climb, there is always another summit.

I love Factorio because of the freedom to create trupen

I love Factorio because it makes me feel smart after hours of designing the spaghetti I call a factory. It’s awesome that every single part of my base is made by myself and that all of it has an impact on the whole production. Every time I fix a bottleneck, I feel a few IQ points smarter, ignoring the fact that it was me that created the bottleneck in the first place. The game doesn’t force you to do anything while giving you the ability to do everything, which is the best type of sandbox. There is no other game on the market that’s this good at giving you that feeling of freedom to create.

I, too, love Factorio because of the community ironic toblerone

What do I love most about Factorio? That’s easy: the community! I have been a part of the Factorio community for well over three years already. I started playing way back in 0.14, where nuclear didn’t exist, bots were still overpowered, and because I was terrible at signalling, my trains kept crashing into each other. Sorry about that, trains. I love how the community has grown and come up with many great ideas such as the ray-casting engine, the blood belt, and many other concepts that I could not have thought possible in Factorio. The community has come up with so many amazing things that are incredible to watch and explore, keeping me engaged and blowing my mind on a regular basis.

I love Factorio because of multiplayer TheKool

Most games are better with friends, and Factorio is a perfect example of this. The complexity of any given map and the many different tasks to be done makes it easier than any other game I’ve played for multiple people to contribute meaningfully to a common goal, instead of simply playing next to each other on the same map. This level of engagement is what finally inspired me to start streaming, and I hope it inspires others to connect with friends as well, old or new.

I love Factorio because it’s my escape Frank_si_narra

I love Factorio because it pulls me away from reality for a couple hours, which is just what I need to be able to come back and focus on real-world problems with renewed clarity.

I love Factorio because of optimization Twisted_Code

I love Factorio because of all the optimization opportunities it offers. From circuit networks, to production lines, to base styles like the main bus or city block, to maybe just throwing machines wherever they fit; there’s always something to improve on. Even choosing the right logistic medium can be an extended discussion, leading to many different solutions, some of which are rather… innovative.

I love Factorio because of burner inserters Goose

While Factorio has many aspects that are worthy of love, my hands-down favourite is the unfixed creativity of design, particularly using the burner inserter. It is one of the slowest, least efficient, and most burdensome machines to build with. Most players wouldn’t craft more than a handful of them, while I have built whole factories using exclusively burner inserters. With their low speed and fuel insertion requirements, many burner inserters must be built in conjunction to achieve similar results to faster electric inserters. This becomes claustrophobic and critical thinking is required for each and every design to attain optimal throughput. This restriction has pushed me to build more creatively than I ever have before, and really tested my knowledge of the deeper mechanics of the game.

Beaconed green circuit production using burner inserters

Wordcloud

Stringweasel and pocarski were nice enough to put together a wordcloud with the most frequent words in this letter. It came out really well, reflecting many of the things we associate with the game. Feel free to explore it a bit!

A wordcloud of the most frequent words in this letter