Alt-F4 #9 - 翻译流程

作者 TheEnemy42, stringweasel, 编辑 Therenas, nicgarner, 翻译 Ph.X 于 2020-10-16

目录

在我们上周的情书特辑之后,本周我们又回到了常规节目第九期!TheEnemy42 为我们展示了异星工厂的众包翻译流程,而 stringweasel 啧继续他们的 Nauvis 档案系列,挖掘了一些游戏相关词语的起源。敬请欣赏!

一段翻译异星工厂的故事 TheEnemy42

和大多数来自丹麦的玩家一样,我总是用英语玩游戏,甚至不会考虑切换到我的母语丹麦语。一些 PC 或智能手机应用程序可能认为它们应该默使用当地语言,这还会导致我的咒骂并将它们切换回英语。直到我向时年 7 岁的女儿介绍异星工厂的时候,我才意识到这款游戏可以选择丹麦语。

没过多久,我就发现游戏的翻译工作远未完成。一半的内容还是英语,剩下的则到处都是语法错误、不三不四的翻译和前后不一致的地方。有的即使有一个丹麦单词存在,也重新用回了英语原文,可能是因为译者习惯了游戏中的英语术语,这也不能全赖他们。

一段时间后,我开始好奇,并开始研究异星工厂团队是如何进行翻译的。在官方论坛上的翻译板块中,提到了 Crowdin 这个在线翻译工具。所有的翻译都是由志愿者完成的,我要做的就是去申请访问。Crowdin 是一个很精巧的工具,它的工作方式是,每个人都可以为给定的文本提出翻译建议,然后用户投票选出喜欢的翻译。得票最多的就会被 Wube 选中,并放入下个版本。然后,我们可以在游戏中看到新的翻译。最后,有一个校对员,他有能力批准给定的翻译,从而覆盖投票过程,不过通常投票最高的那个会被选中。

Crowdin 工具展示

这是 Crowdin 工作区。左边是要翻译的原文列表。顶部是当前选定的要翻译的原文,下面是一个文本框,可以输入你的翻译。底部是当前建议的译文及其票数,还有一个复选标记显示当前已批准的译文。右边是一些评论标签页和一些常用的翻译术语,以维持前后一致。

尽管我没有真正的翻译经验,但我还是开始贡献翻译,我注意到所有之前的译者都已经有几年没有活动了。有几个人在这里和那里贡献了几个词,但不多。那么,摆在我面前会是一个相当大的任务。原文字符串由大约 25000 多个单词组成,当时丹麦语翻译大约完成了 65%,而批准率只有 18%。

当然,我把游戏换成了丹麦语,在游戏中看到自己的劳动成果,其实真的很有成就感。我迷上了这个工作并开始在晚上和上班路上花几个小时翻译。大部分都是体力活,有些则是让人头疼的难题,因为一些英语或技术术语在并不存在对应的丹麦语。

翻译的另一个有趣的挑战是丹麦语(像德语或类似的语言)会将名词连缀成较长的单词(例如 transport belt 会变成 transportbelt)。这可能会导致相当长的单词,对游戏的布局不利。我相信其他语言的译者也会因为语法、语言结构等原因面临类似的挑战。

游戏内布局出错例 1

游戏内布局出错例 2

两个例子,展示游戏中文本的布局被推到新的一行或是无法显示完整。

经过断断续续几个月的翻译,我在 6 月份实现了 100% 翻译的初步目标。成就感非凡,但工作还远远未完成。我申请成为丹麦语翻译的校对,一旦升职,我就有权限重新修改之前的译本。最后的挑战是要超越单纯的文本,让本地化感觉更像丹麦语。它还包括提高连贯性(在不同的翻译文本中对同一实体使用相同的单词)和修复语法问题以及 25000 多个单词中的所有其他奇怪的地方。实际上,这也是一个相当大的任务。

大约在同一时间,Wube 正在制作新的教程(那些进入 1.0 的教程),我用这个教程来获得正确的翻译感受,因为这很可能是新玩家的第一次游戏体验。丹麦语的翻译在上下文中是否真的有意义?于是我多次玩了一遍战役和小教程,一边玩一边切到 Crowdin 来修正文本。

8月初,我终于完成了任务,两道杠都达到了愉快的 100%。完成了工作后我愉快的微笑着,然后重新加载页面,发现它们突然降到了 96%……Wube 在我刚刚完成的时候给 Crowdin 推送了一批新的文本。胆大包天!还好没多久就恢复到 100% 了。

最后这部分其实挺有意思的,因为 Wube 会在构建新版本的过程中把新的待翻译文本推送到 Crowdin(具体细节不清楚)。这意味着当玩家拿到新版本时,新加的或改变的文本还没有被翻译。对于 1.0 来说,这意味着新的 spidertron (蜘蛛机甲)和新的坠毁飞船在所有语言中都保留着原始的英文文本,因为它们是在发布时才刚刚添加的。即使我在发布日在 Crowdin 翻译了它们,也要等到 1.1 才会实装。

这也意味着,我是从待翻译文本而不是预告片或论坛上得知 1.0 中加入了蜘蛛机甲,我在收到 Crowdin 的通知后先去看了它。

自发布以来,我继续发现了一些可以改善译文的零碎内容,并通过 Crowdin 修复它们,不过我对游戏可以完全用丹麦语来游玩感到很满意。我希望,也许有些家长可以利用这个翻译来把这种齿轮形的毒品推给自己的孩子们。

Nauvis 档案:异星工厂行话 stringweasel

一个成熟的社区中,随着时间的推延往往会形成一种行话。这是一组仅有该社区成员才能真正理解其含义的词汇。举个例子在 Satisfactory 中有工程师会用诸如 蜥蜴狗 或者 可惜这不是异星工厂 这种词语。对我们本土的虫群,也会有像是 rooarrewrrii,或者 chrokk(参见 ssilk这里的解释)这样的昵称。如同其他繁荣的社区一样,我们也有一些自创的词语。

Underneathies

这是一个我们能从知名玩家(比如我们敬爱的 KatherineOfSky)在讨论地下传送带时听到的词语。而且也在 Reddit 上有使用。比如当 /u/excessionoz 不慎用升级计划(Upgrade Planner) Mod 摧毁他的超市(另一个行话的例子)时。所以这个奇怪的词语从何而来?

故事要从 2017 年 3 月 9 日讲起。在这个命中注定的日子里,/u/Dynamic_Gravity 与他的女友发生了一场争论,一场关于如何称呼地下传送带的争论。他们无法达成一致意见,于是求助于 Reddit 上的 专家 们,并发起了一场投票。正是在 这个 投票中——在他女友的狂热捍卫下——包含了词语 underneathies

接下来就是众所周知的事情了。这个行话在社区里异常热销。仅仅三天之后就有一个 Mod 来改变游戏内物品名(由 /u/Suprcheese 制作,同时也是 随意通行(Squeak Through)卫星轨道炮(Orbital Ion Cannon)的作者)。三年多以后,这个词语依然被很多人广泛使用和喜爱。

这个特殊的词语自然地融入到我们社区的过程真是令人着迷。我的意思是,它也可以很容易地被昵称为 undie-grundies。相信我们这件事上做了个正确的决定。

Nauvis:我们的家

辽阔的翠绿草原,危险的红色荒漠,以及无底的深邃湖泊。一片富饶的土地,但居住着食人虫群。这就是我们所熟知和热爱的地方,以及不幸坠毁的地点。这是我们的家,我们称他为 Nauvis。

Nauvis 白天的照片
图片由 Mod Nauvis Day 提供,并经过作者编辑。

事实上,游戏中没有任何地方真正称呼我们的星球为 Nauvis——剧情里只是将这里称为“陌生的地方”。甚至在 0.13 的远古时代,任务的第一步只是称其为“一颗未知的星球”。然而,我们中有很多人知道这个正在遭我们污染的星球叫做 Nauvis。为什么呢?

0.13 任务的第一步

好吧,游戏本身有很多不同的存在维度——或者按照代码里的称呼——表面。而我们所在的 表面 被称作 nauvis。然而,这并不意味着这就是我们所在星球的名字。一个表面可以用于创造作多种多样的结构,包括太空平台(space platforms)厂房(factory floors)。在某个时刻,Mod 作者们了解了我们所在的主要表面名字,然后将这一知识传播到大众耳中。

但为什么是 Nauvis?它有什么含义?据我们所知尚不存在直接翻译——倒是有不少传说。有人说这个名字取自拉丁语 novus,意思是新。或者根据其读音,也可能来自拉丁语 navis,意思是船。对一个长期在太空中旅行的工程师而言,还有什么比飞船更适合的家呢?

唉,我们可能永远也不会知道我们星球最初的名字是什么——无论我们或者当地人。也不知道这个美丽名字背后的真正含义是什么。但是,我们总会称呼我们所在的家为 Nauvis。

征稿

一如既往的,我们正在召集任何想要为 Alt-F4 做出贡献的人,无论是提交文章还是帮助翻译都可以。如果您有一些有趣的想法,并乐于与社区分享,这里就是一个好地方。如果您没有太大把握,我们会很乐意帮助您讨论内容创意和结构问题。我们很快会有一期号外,如果您想参与其中,请加入 Discord 以免错过机会。

Alt-F4 #9 - Translation Process

Written by TheEnemy42, stringweasel, edited by Therenas, nicgarner on 2020-10-16

Table of Contents

After our special love letter issue last week, we’re back to our regularly scheduled programming this week with issue nine! TheEnemy42 gives us some insight on how the crowdsourced process of translating Factorio into many different languages works, and stringweasel continues their Nauvis Archives series by digging into the origins of some of the language that has developed around the game. Enjoy!

A story about translating Factorio TheEnemy42

Like most gamers from Denmark, I always play games in English and would never even consider switching to my native Danish language. Some PC or smartphone apps might think they should default to the local language, which always leads to cursing and switching them back to English. The moment I realised that Danish was even an option in Factorio was when I introduced my then seven-year-old daughter to the game.

It did not take long to see that the translation was far from finished. Half the game was still in English and the rest was littered with grammatical errors, dubious translations, and inconsistencies. Some of them just re-used the English word even though a Danish word exists, probably because the translators were so used to the English terms in gaming, which I can’t really blame them for.

After a while, I got curious and started looking into how the Factorio team handled translation. The official forum has a translations board with a reference to Crowdin, which is an online translation tool. All translations are done by volunteers and all I had to do was request access. Crowdin is a nifty tool and the way it works is that everyone can suggest a translation for a given text and users vote for the preferred one. The ones with the most votes get extracted by Wube and make it into the next version. We can then see the new translations in game. Lastly, a proofreader role exists that has the ability to approve a given translation, thus overriding the voting process, though usually the highest voted one is chosen.

Visual representation of the Crowdin tool

This is the Crowdin workspace. On the left is a list of original texts to be translated. At the top is the currently selected original text to translate, and below that is a textbox to enter your translation. At the bottom are the currently suggested translations with their count of votes and a checkmark showing the currently approved one. On the right are some tabs for comments and some common translated terms to help build consistency.

I started contributing to the translation despite having no real experience with translating, and I noticed that all of the previous translators had been inactive for several years. A few people had contributed a few words here and there, but nothing more. Quite a large task lay ahead of me, then. The original strings consist of some 25,000+ words and the Danish translation was around 65% complete at the time, while the approval rate was at a mere 18%.

Of course, I switched my game to Danish and it was actually really rewarding to see the fruits of my labour in game. I got hooked and started spending hours translating in the evening and on my daily commute to work. A lot of it was grunt work and some of it was head-scratchingly difficult as some English or technical terms do not really exist in Danish.

Another interesting challenge with the translation is that Danish (like German or similar languages) concatenate nouns into longer words (e.g. transport belt would be transportbelt). This can lead to rather long single words pushing the layout of the game in unfavourable ways. I am sure translators for other languages faced similar challenges because of grammar, language structure, and the like.

In-game example 1 of layout gone wrong

In-game example 2 of layout gone wrong

Two examples of the in-game layout either being pushed to a new line or being unable to show the entire text.

After many months of on-and-off translating I hit my first goal of 100% translation back in June. That accomplishment felt really good, but the work was nowhere near done. I applied to become proofreader of the Danish translation and once promoted I had the permissions to rework the previous translations. The final challenge was to look beyond the mere words and make the localisation feel more Danish. It also included improving coherency (using the same word for the same entity in different translations) and fixing grammar issues and all the other oddities across 25,000+ words. This was quite a big task, actually.

At about the same time Wube was working on the new tutorials (the ones that made it into 1.0), and I used this as a way to get a proper feel of the translation since this was most likely what new players would first experience. Did the Danish translation actually make sense in context? So I played through the campaign and mini-tutorials multiple times, tabbing out to Crowdin to fix texts as I went along.

At the beginning of August I was finally done, both bars sat at a pleasant 100%. Smiling to myself after a job well done, I reloaded the page and suddenly it dropped to 96%… Wube had pushed a batch of new text to Crowdin right as I was done. The audacity! Thankfully it did not take long to get it back to 100%.

This last part is actually quite interesting as Wube push new text to translate to Crowdin as part of their process to build a new release (not sure of the exact details). This means that new or changed texts have not been translated yet when players get a new version. For 1.0, this meant that the new spidertron and new crashed spaceship have the original English text in all languages as they were added at release time. It won’t be until 1.1 before it’s fixed even though I translated them in Crowdin on release day.

It also meant that I learned that the spidertron had been added to 1.0 from the translation texts, rather than the trailer or forums, because I saw that first after getting a notification from Crowdin.

Since release I continue to find bits and bobs that could use better translations and pop by Crowdin to fix them, but I do feel a lot of satisfaction about the fact that the game can be played entirely in Danish. I hope that maybe some parents out there can use it to push this gear-shaped drug onto their own kids.

Nauvis Archives: Factorio Jargon stringweasel

In any established community, a form of jargon is created over time. A selection of words that only people from that community will understand the true meaning of. For example, for Satisfactory engineers these are words like lizard doggo or I-wish-this-was-Factorio. For our native biters, these are words like rooarre, wrrii, or chrokk (see ssilk’s explanation here). And—just as any thriving community—we also have a few phrases we have made our own.

Underneathies

This is a word we’ve heard well-known players use (such as our beloved KatherineOfSky) when talking about underground belts. And it’s also used on Reddit. For example when /u/excessionoz accidentally destroyed his mall (another example of jargon) using the Upgrade Planner mod. So where did this odd word come from?

Well, it all started on the 9th of March 2017. On this fateful day, /u/Dynamic_Gravity had an argument debate with his girlfriend about what an underground belt was really called. They couldn’t come to an agreement, so they turned to the experts on Reddit and created a poll. And that poll—which his girlfriend so avidly defended—contained the word underneathies.

The rest is history, as they say. The community adopted this word into its jargon like hot cakes. It took only three days for a mod to change the in-game name to underneathies (created by /u/Suprcheese, who also brought us legendary mods like Squeak Through and Orbital Ion Cannon). More than three years later this word is still widely used and loved by many.

It’s fascinating how naturally this particular word was incorporated into our community. I mean, it could just as easily have been nicknamed undie-grundies. We probably made the right call on that one.

Nauvis: Our Home

Expansive grass plains, dangerous red deserts, and infinitely deep lakes. A land rich in resources but inhabited by a local biter menace. This is the place we came to know and love after brutally crash landing on it. It’s our home, and we call it Nauvis.

Nauvis Day Picture
Image credit to the mod Nauvis Day, with some editing by the author.

Now, nowhere does the game actually call our planet Nauvis—the campaign simply calls it a “strange place”. Even in the ancient days of 0.13, the mission First Steps simply called it “an unknown planet”. And yet, most of us know that the planet we’re all viciously polluting is called Nauvis. Why?

First Steps Mission in 0.13

Well, the game itself has various dimensions of existence—or as the code calls them—surfaces. And the surface we all live on is called nauvis. However, this does not necessarily mean that it’s our planet’s name. A surface can be used to create a variety of constructs, including space platforms and factory floors. At some point, modders realised what our main surface is called, and this knowledge was transferred to the general public.

But why Nauvis? What does it mean? There is no direct translation that we know of—but there are many legends. Some say it’s from the Latin word novus which means new. Or, depending on how it’s pronounced, it could be from Latin word navis which means ship. What else would an engineer be used to calling his home when he has travelled through space for long periods of time in a ship?

Alas, we might never know what our planet was originally called—by our people or the natives. Or what the true meaning is behind the beautiful name. But, we will always call the home we’re stranded on Nauvis.

Contributing

As always, we’re looking for people that want to contribute to Alt-F4, be it by submitting an article or by helping with translation. If you have something interesting in mind that you want to share with the community in a polished way, this is the place to do it. If you’re not too sure about it we’ll gladly help by discussing content ideas and structure questions. If that sounds like something that’s up your alley, join the Discord to get started!